Foundation Stage

Display Board

Al-Ashraf Preschool implements the Early years Foundation Stage to develop plans to meet each and every child’s individual needs. This is structured with an emphasis on learning through play with relevant and motivating activities. This encompasses 7 areas of learning:

The Prime Areas these are fundamental and work together in order to provide developmental support in all other areas

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Physical development
  3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The Specific Areas these includes essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Arts and Design

Communication and Language

Speaking, listening and understanding are central to learning. Children are given opportunities to talk for a range of purposes to different audiences and are encouraged to listen attentively. A strong emphasis is placed on learning sounds and Jolly Phonics a this develops their narratives and expressiveness.

Physical development

Moving, handling, health and self-care are the fundamentals in Physical Development. The Nursery promotes good health and hygiene by educating children how to manage their own personal needs, including dressing and independently going to the toilet.

Children are taught how to handle equipment and tools effectively. The spacious area in nursery allows them to move confidently in a range of ways, which helps the children develop physical skills that use large body movements.

Personal, social and emotional development

It is our aim to boost confidence and self-awareness. Children are encouraged to try new activities by making relationships and taking into account other people’s desires and feeling. This area encourages each child to develop as individuals and as members of their communities, building on their own experiences and setting early learning goals for personal and emotional development.

As members of a class and Nursery community, they learn social skills such as how to share, take turns, play, help others, resolve simple arguments and deal with bullying.


Literacy is taught by reading a variety of stories to children in an expressive manner. This will boost their imagination and develop their creativity, making them more confident in speaking. In addition to this, it may encourage them to want to read to more, thus widening their vocabulary.


In the foundation stage, Mathematical skills are taught through play and practical activities, linked to chosen subject areas. This makes it relevant and meaningful to the children so that they can use the knowledge and skills acquired in Maths in their everyday lives.

Understanding the world

Children are encouraged to talk about the people, the communities around them and the world in general. This may be about things they enjoy, events taking place in their lives or it may also be about observation of animals, plants and why things occur.

Expressive Arts and Design

Children are given activities that stimulate creativity and imagination. They can explore using a variety of materials, tools and techniques and experiment with colours and textures. textures, forms and functions. This in turn would represent their own ideas and feelings.

The setting also believes in the four themes of the Early Years Foundation Stage and puts these principles into practice:

  1. A Unique child: every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

  2. Positive relationships: children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and a key person.

  3. Enabling Environments: the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

  4. Learning development: children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.